Little literary gems from Glasgow

I’ve been away on a short and very last minute trip to Glasgow. The town has way too many museums, therefore I’ve only manage to see a few. But that’s not to say I didn’t find a few little gems 🙂

Mitchell Library

Mitchell Library appeared on some list as a ‘must see hidden gem’. I agree it is gorgeous on the outside, but I didn’t manage to see anything inside. A hall that was looking very grand was under restoration and beside that the staff wasn’t helpful at all, so I’ve just stumbled upon a few display cabinets showcasing the 1938 Empire Exhibition anddddddddd non other than then original Auld Lang Syne by Robert Burns.

 

 

 

The other very lovely gem came from The Gallery of Modern Art in the shape of handprints of  famous authors. The prints are made by Hans-Peter Feldmann using Charlotte Wolff’s prints from 1930s. In pictures, from left to right: Antoine de Saint-Exupery and Aldous Huxley. Simply delightful, enjoy!

 

 

 

 

 

3 comments

  1. NocturnalJen · July 3

    I’m studying English Literaure in this city and I haven’t been to either of these museums what is WRONG wth me?!

    Like

    • Hihihihih you made me laugh. It’s understandable as Glasgow has so much to offer, you don’t know where to go first. I wouldn’t have ended up there if it wasn’t for the fact that most museums are closed Mondays. Definitely not at Goma, but you know what they say, you find the most amazing things in the least expected places.
      Regarding the Mitchell Library, they do free guided tours on Tuesdays(I think!) and I believe you’d be better off going on one, as the staff doesn’t seem to know what one could visit on its own. But they are suppose to have loads of rare books and old maps and an extended collection on Burns, you just need enough time to enjoy that :p

      Liked by 1 person

      • NocturnalJen · July 4

        I’ll definitely make the effort to go to these places now! It’s amazing the things I’ve found out about y own city since starting blogging!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

